Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Day 27 : Missed Boats and Uruguay!

Today we had to get up early to catch the boat to Montevideo at 11:30. This is tough taking the Argentinian lifestyle into account and was made even more difficult by the fact that we were out drinking until about 6:00. We got to the boat terminal at about 25 minutes past eleven but they wouldn´t let us on the boat because we had not gone through customs! With our rucksacks and our hungover heads we sat and planned our next move. Joe was given the task of getting us on a boat to Uruguay and did pretty well considering the state of us. He even managed to get a first class ticket for himself!

We headed back to the Millhouse and had some breakfast and talked to all the guys we´d met last night. Ro slept, Joe Skyped and I just walked around the centre of Buenos Aires for a couple of hours. I walked the Av Florida and it was just like walking Henry Street or Shop Street in Galway. Shops, cafes and cobbled streets marked the pedestrian areas with huge monuments at every junction. I walked through the Galerias Pacifico and seen the amazing high ceilings painted with fantastic frescos. Not only were the ceilings high, so were the prices. There was nothing but jewelry shops and high end clothes shops with one tee-shirt I looked at costing just over €100. Not something you wanna bring backpacking with you!

We headed back to the boat at about 7pm that night and made the one and a half hour trip to Colonia. The boat was like a hotel with really comfortable seats, even in the economy section. Joe had his first class ticket and said to me and Ro, "I´ll meet you back here in a couple of minutes. I´ll check it out and come back to you." Safe to say we didn´t see Joe again until we got off the boat in Uruguay!

When we got to Colonia it was night time so we couldn´t see much of the town. We walked to our brilliantly named hostel, Hostel Colonia, and checked in for the night. The hostel is nice and large but it is like a really old hotel. We had our own room but there could probably have been another 8 beds in there! For dinner we went to a steak house to test out the local cuisine. (We are coming something of steak experts here in South America.) The restaurant was called Reimporte. We settled into three big lumps of meat, I had the Lomo (Tenderloin) and the lads had the Vacio (Flank). The meal was great but then we got the bill! $830! This couldn´t be right! We were eating in Argentina for $40peso per person a night!

The bill was in Uruguay currency which is crazy! Everything is in hundreds! The bill in Argentinian Peso was only 140peso which was really good value considering the steaks and the wine that we had!!! We headed back to the beds in the aptly named Hostel Colonia and slept like babies!


Charlie

No comments: